Indian Rebellion of 1857
Indian Rebellion of 1857.jpg
A 1912 map of "Northern India - The Mutiny 1857–59" showing the centres of rebellion.
Date10 May 1857–1859
LocationIndia (cf. 1857)[1]
ResultSuppression of the rebellion,
Final collapse of Mughal and Maratha Empires,
End of Company rule in India,
Transfer of rule to the British crown,
British victory
British Indian Empire created out of former East India Company territory (some land returned to native rulers, other land confiscated by the British crown)
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svg East India Companyrebel sepoys
Seven Indian princely states
United Kingdom British Army
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svg East India Companyloyalist sepoys
Native irregulars
East India Company British regulars
United Kingdom British and European civilian volunteers raised in the Bengal Presidency
21 princely states
Commanders and leaders
Mughal Empire Bahadur Shah II
Flag of the Maratha Empire.svg Nana Sahib Peshwa
Flag of the British East India Company (1801).svg Bakht Khan
Flag of the Maratha Empire.svg Rani Lakshmibai
Flag of the Maratha Empire.svg Tantya Tope
अवध ध्वज.gif Begum Hazrat Mahal
Babu Kunwar Singh
Ishwori Kumari Devi, Rani of Tulsipur
Commander-in-Chief, India:
United Kingdom George Anson (to May 1857)
United Kingdom Sir Patrick Grant
United Kingdom Sir Colin Campbell(from August 1857)
Pre 1962 Flag of Nepal.png Jang Bahadur[2]